Fares is a seasoned Global Executive with more than 30 years of broad management experience in semiconductors, EDA and healthcare IT. Most recently Fares  was VP/GM of the Semiconductor Business Unit  at ANSYS, the world’s leader in engineering simulation. Before ANSYS, he was President of TeleResults, a Healthcare IT company focused on transplant and organ disease patient management.  Fares has held various executive management, marketing and sales and  engineering roles at at Actel Corporation (acquired by Microsemi), AMD and Samsung Semiconductor. Mubarak holds a MSEE degree from Case Western Reserve University and a MBA from Golden Gate University.

Frederic Nabki, PhD, directs the technological innovations that SPARK Microsystems is bringing to market. Frederic has 17 years of experience in research and development of RFICs and MEMS. He obtained his Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from McGill University in 2010. Dr. Nabki has contributed to setting the direction of the technological roadmap for start-up companies, coordinated the development of advanced technologies and participated in product development efforts. His technical expertise includes analog, RF, and mixed-signal integrated circuits and MEMS sensors and actuators. He has published several scientific publications, and he holds multiple patents in microsystems and integrated circuits.

Steeve Robitaille joined SPARK’s board in March 2023.
Mr. Robitaille is the Co-Managing Partner of Idealist Capital, an investment firm focused on accelerating the energy transition by providing growth capital to entrepreneurs across North America with a primary focus on the Canadian market.

Prior to co-founding Idealist Capital, Mr. Robitaille served as senior executive in M&A, legal, and strategic functions at Bombardier from April 2019 to February 2021, and at WSP from May 2017 to April 2019. 

Before 2017, Mr. Robitaille was a Senior Partner of the law firm Stikeman Elliott LLP, where he practiced corporate law for over 20 years and was a member of its Partnership Board and Executive Committee. Mr. Robitaille holds a law degree from Université Laval and has been a member of the Quebec Bar since 1994.

François Boudreault joined SPARK’s board in March 2023. Mr. Boudreault has been investing in private equity for over 20 years and is a Partner at Idealist Capital, an investment firm focused on accelerating the energy transition by providing growth capital to entrepreneurs across North America with a primary focus on the Canadian market.

Mr. Boudreault was previously Managing Director and Deputy Head of Private Equity at CDPQ, where he co-head a global team of investment professionals with a mandate to build and manage a direct private equity portfolio of diversified investments in North America, Latin America, Europe, and Asia. He has served on several boards of portfolio companies during his tenure of 21 years at CDPQ.

Mr. Boudreault holds a Master of Science in Administration in Finance from HEC Montréal, as well as a CFA designation.

Andrée-Lise Méthot joined SPARK’s board in December 2022. Andrée-Lise Méthot is the Founder and Managing Partner of Cycle Capital. She has more than 25 years of experience in venture capital, management, and engineering. She founded Cycle Capital, an impact fund manager, which is the largest investment platform in clean technologies in Canada. To date, Cycle Capital manages more than half a billion dollars under management through four North American funds, one Chinese fund, and a global circular innovation fund in collaboration with Demeter, as well as an accelerator, Cycle Momentum.

In addition to serving on portfolio companies’ Boards of Directors, Andrée-Lise is on the Board of Directors for the Canadian Infrastructure Bank, the Laval University, the Montreal Heart Institute, and the Pointe-à-Callière museum. She is the Founder and Chairperson of Cycle Momentum, Co-Founder of the Switch – the Alliance for a Green Economy, and the industrial cluster ─ Ecotech Québec. She is a member of the Paris Fonds Vert Advisory Board, of the Task Force on Women in the Economy of the Canadian Government, and the Ambassador in clean technologies for Investissement Québec. She is a former member of the Sustainable Development Technology Canada (SDTC) Board of Directors and Investment Committee.

Andrée-Lise has been named Officière de l’Ordre du Québec (2018) and received numerous honors, such as the 2019 Grand Prix d’excellence from the Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec, the Personality of the year Award in management and entrepreneurship of La Presse (2020), and the “Summa Carrière” prize from the Laval University Faculty of Science and Engineering (2021). She has a Master’s Degree in Science from the University of Montreal, and a Bachelor’s Degree in Geological Engineering from the Laval University. She also studied physics of the atmosphere and climate science.

John East joined SPARK’s board in July 2017. Retired CEO of Actel and former senior vice president at AMD. Serves on several public and private companies boards in the United States. Prior to that, Mr. East held various engineering, marketing, and management positions at Raytheon Semiconductor and Fairchild Semiconductor. He has served on the boards of directors of Adaptec and Zehntel, and MCC and Single Chip Systems. He holds a BS in Electrical Engineering and an MBA from the University of California, Berkeley. Based in San Jose, California.

Mark McDowell joined SPARK’s board in November 2017. Angel investor, entrepreneur, engineer. Partner at Real Ventures and co-founder of Acta Wireless Capital. Mark has over 20 years experience in the wireless industry as a wireless operator and entrepreneur. He was part of the founding management team of four companies, including Invertix, a pioneer in wireless instant messaging and presence, and Telecorp PCS, which was acquired by AT&T Wireless Services. Mark holds MSEE and BSEE degrees from MIT.